Author Resources
Guide to publishing


Deadline: 27 August 2017

The Galley Beggar Press Short Story Prize

The winner will receive £1000 or 12 months of editorial support from the directors of Galley Beggar Press. There is an entry fee of £10.

Deadline: 14 September 2017

The Timothy Corsellis Prize 2017

The Prize is free to enter, and is open to writers aged 14-25 and asks writers to respond to the life and/or work of a selection of WWII poets. They also run a Young Critics Prize, for essays of 500-1500 words exploring which three poets are most likely to be read in twenty years’ time, and why. The winner of each category will receive a £100 book token. The two runners-up in each category will receive a £50 book token. The winners and runners-up will also receive poetry books, posters, and publication on the Young Poets Network.

Deadline: 27 September 2017

Next Chapter Award 2017

The Next Chapter Award 2017 is open to writers who are based in Scotland, over the age of 40, and who are yet to publish a full-length work. The successful writer will receive a £2,000 bursary, nine months of mentoring arranged by Scottish Book Trust, and a two week writing retreat in March 2018.

Deadline: 28 September 2017

The Sunday Times EFG Short Story Award 2018

Free to enter. Submit stories up to 6000 words in length. Open to writers of any nationality or residency, but you must have a record of prior publication in creative writing in the United Kingdom or Ireland. The winner will receive £30,000.

Deadline: 30 September 2017

Crowvus Christmas Ghost Story Competition 2017

There are two categories, children (under 16) and adults. Prizes: The children’s top prize is a £50 one4all gift card. The adult’s prizes work on a percentage of the entry fees. The first prize is 40%. There will also be 6 highly commended places which, along with the winners, will be featured in an anthology. Children’s entries are free. Otherwise, it’s £3 for one story, or £5 for 2 stories. Maximum 2 stories per author.

Deadline: 15 October 2017

NUHA Blogging Competition

Free to enter. The competition was established ‘as a platform to debate issues of education and development, and to provide an opportunity for authors to be published and to develop their self-confidence’. Prizes: up to $2,500 for the adult category, up to $1,000 for the Youth Prize and up to $250 for the Young Writers category.

Deadline: 31 October 2017

Benjamin Franklin House Literary Prize

Free to enter. Submit a piece of fiction or non-fiction interpreting a Franklin quote in 1000–1500 words. The quote for this year is ‘if you would not be forgotten, As soon as you are dead and rotten, either write things worth reading, or do things worth the writing’ ‘Poor Richard, 1738’. Eligibility: 18-25 year olds who are resident in the UK. Prizes: £750, £500. The winning entry will be published online on The Telegraph and the Benjamin Franklin House website.

Deadline: 31 October 2017

The Young Walter Scott Prize

Free to enter, open to writers aged 11-19 who are full-time residents of the UK. Entries between 800 and 2000 words, inspired by any aspect of the past – an actual historical event, place or person. There are two age categories: 11-15 and 16-19. The winners of each category will be offered a travel and research grant to explore historical places in the UK, and an invitation to the Borders Book Festival in Melrose, Scotland in 2018 to receive their prizes from the Duke and Duchess of Buccleuch. Two runners-up will receive a £100 book token. All winning stories will be published in an anthology.

Deadline: 1 November 2017

The Caledonia Novel Award

Submit the first 20 pages of your novel for adults or young adults together with a synopsis. The winner will receive £1,000.Judge: literary agent Madeleine Milburn, entry Fee: £25.

Deadline: 19 November 2017

2017 Shooter Poetry Competition

Entry Fee: £3 for one poem or £8 for three poems. Each entrant will receive an e-copy of the winter issue. The winner will receive £100, publication in the winter issue and on the website, and promotion on Shooter’s social media. The runner-up will receive £30, publication on Shooter’s website, and promotion on social media.

Deadline: 30 November 2017

The Aeon Award 2017

The Aeon Award is a prestigious fiction writing competition for short stories in any speculative fiction genre, i.e. fantasy, science fiction, horror or anything in-between or unclassifiable. The Aeon Award short fiction contest has been running since 2004 and has a Grand Prize of €1000 and publication in Albedo One! Second and third place contest prizes are €200 and €100 as well as guaranteed publication in Albedo One, the leading Irish magazine of science fiction, fantasy and horror. The contest opens January 1st and ends on November 30th.

Deadline: 22 December 2017

Ruth Rendell Short Story Competition 2017

The competition is hosted by the charity InterAct Stroke Support. Submit a piece, in any genre (max 1,000 words, entry fee of £15). The winner of the competition will be commissioned to write four further stories for InterAct Stroke Support over the course of one year and will receive £1000. InterAct Stroke Support is dedicated to supporting stroke recovery by using professional actors to deliver hospital readings and community projects.

Deadline: 25 January 2018

Clochoderick Press Poetry Competition

The Clochoderick Press Poetry Competition is now open until January 25th, 2018. Prizes: £500, £200, £100, 4x £50, entry Fees: £5 per poem, £7.50 for three poems, £10 for 5 poems.